Monthly Capriccio

A blog dedicated to the ezine "Monthly Capriccio," a monthly light novel magazine.

Relay Novel 2009/09/17

I was doing some random internet searching on the Japanese side of the internet when I came across the words “relay novel.”  I didn’t really know what it was until I thought about it.  Can you imagine it, a team of writers sitting down, one person scribbling away at the page then passes it off to the next writer sitting beside him or her?  There’s no timer, but there’s lots or pressure (maybe).  That’s how I imagined it, this high-stakes over the top literary drama.  A relay novel is not exactly like that (although it could be).

My point is what if I wrote a relay novel with some of the other writers who have agreed to contribute to the ezine?  That could be fun.  With each issue, there’s a new chapter published, and people will anticipate the next issue to find out what will happen next or what kind of twist there’ll be.  Anyway, that’s just a thought.  I’m not sure if anyone would want to do that.  Am I the only one?  It could have a really wacky or quirky name that would make people think, “Hey, what’s that?” when they read the title.

On another note, I got a story from someone who wants to write for the magazine.  I haven’t read it yet, but I’ll gladly look it over.  I’m still in need of writers as well as other people.  Maybe what this ezine blog needs is a google group.  I couldn’t find anything when searching “light novel.”  Such a shame.  Let’s get that awareness up, up, up!

 

2 Responses to “Relay Novel”

  1. kafkafuura Says:

    A relay novel actually sounds kind of fun. If you think you’re really going to do it drop me a line, or a mail actually – I might want to join in; adding @gmail.com to the username should do it.

  2. Antares Says:

    I’m all in for working on a relay novel. More practice can never be a bad thing when you leave your writing comfort zone, and nothing could do that better than working off what someone else has given to you. My only suggestion would be to have one kind of ‘overseer’ to blend the final product together. A big problem with something like what a relay novel sounds like would be the mixture of different voices and styles


Leave a Reply

