Monthly Capriccio

A blog dedicated to the ezine "Monthly Capriccio," a monthly light novel magazine.

A Good Artist Is Hard to Find 2009/09/25

I realize that this is an ezine, an ezine that focuses primarily on the text inside it, but the irony of that is that what we need to really draw in the readers is art, not words. That’s not to say that words aren’t important because that’s obviously not true, but art is more eye-catching than text alone.

Take a relatively unknown or new manga, for example. If potential readers aren’t drawn in by the artist’s name, then what ultimately must draw in the readers it the art, specifically cover art. That’s why I’m in search of a few good artists who are passionate about what they do and hopefully a few will be into light novels.

An attention-grabbing color cover will be especially advantageous to the ezine, but I can’t leave out the contents of the ezine. Remember, one of the defining qualities of a light novel are its mangaeque illustrations. I’ll need artists to illustrate the stories, but that shouldn’t be too much work for the individual artist. As a serialized ezine, there will be one chapter of each story per issue, so that would mean no more than two illustrations per story. Even a single illustration for each story is fine.

There are some really amazing artists out there, artists that are just waiting to get out there and have their name known to the world. It’s my hope that I will be able to provide a few artists with a means of being more recognizable, that is to people who adore light novels. And perhaps the audience of this ezine will expand far beyond that barrier.

I’ve been told that DeviantArt would be my best place to search, and that’s where I’ll start, but I wonder if there is another source of untapped talent that I can look? I’m sure I’ll know what I’m looking for when I see it. I want this to be art that will make the Japanese manga industry jealous, art that is original and truly stands out on its own.

 

2 Responses to “A Good Artist Is Hard to Find”

  1. MojinR Says:

    Good luck finding one. Artists, almost as a whole, are very peculiar people. On top of that they usually love their art and are committed to their personal project first and commissions second.

  2. Noelle Says:

    An anime convention might be a good place to connect with artists. Artist alley is a good way to preview the works of aspiring artists. Artists set up booths to show their art and talk to people specifically to hope to meet people like you who are looking for artists.

    Also just scouring the halls of the con you can find a number of people just sitting around doodling.

    Good luck,
    Noelle


Leave a Reply

